Happy new user with a couple of minor issues

Post your MobiLinc comments and feedback here.

Happy new user with a couple of minor issues

Postby bwade913 » Sun Jun 14, 2009 11:02 pm

I came across this tool in an accidental way. I'm new to HA and after a bit of research I've decided to build an Insteon based system using the the open source control software Misterhouse on a Linux machine. Now I knew I had to buy a 2412S for that system, but somehow I ended up buying a 2414S on eBay instead. After flailing for a few hours trying to get Misterhouse to talk to the thing, I realized my error and placed an order for a 2412S. With my project on hold, I started thinking about whether there wasn't something useful I could still do with the 2414S without spending too much money and so I turned to Google. To my amazement, $10 and an hour later I'm controlling appliances with my iPhone. That was a big one on my list. I want to be able to start my espresso machine (with confirmation) from my iPhone before I get out of bed in the morning so that it'll be up to temperature by the time I'm ready for coffee. Something that I thought was going to be difficult has ended up being the first thing I have running. My lemon has turned into some very good lemonade.

One general question I have about all this: Am I correct to believe that the 2412S and 2414S can coexist in my Insteon network without interfering with each other or requiring any special configuration?

Issues I've seen so far:

1. For some reason, I couldn't get SDM to talk to the PLC by manually changing the port in the registry. I eventually stumbled across the "Find PLC" command and it started working at that point. It would be good if that were added to the how-to.

2. Status doesn't get updated when you are in the control window for a module and some other controller changes the module state. You have to back out of the control window and then re-enter to see the true status.

Cheers on an excellent product,
Bret