Auto Detect Connection Method not working as expected

Submit your bug reports here.

Auto Detect Connection Method not working as expected

Postby daled » Sat Aug 18, 2012 3:13 pm

I'm new to MobiLinc, having switched from Conductor. So far I like what I see, but I have an observation about Auto Detect Connection Method.

I'm able to successfully connect via http to the IP address of my ISY via wifi in my network, and I'm able to successfully connect via https to the external URL of my network via cellular data if I turn wifi off (or am out of range of my wifi).

If, however, I use the auto detect connection method, moblilinc fails to connect when I'm using wifi on my local network. I believe that this is because my router resolves the external URL to its address, but fails to port forward the internal request. Hence no connection to the ISY on 443 can be established.

I have the identical configuration using Conductor and Conductor seems to be smart enough to try to connect via http if the https connection does not work (even if the address is resolved). Can Mobilinc be made to work the same way? If not, then I manually need to change the connection method every time I switch between my local network and external network, unless you have another suggestion.
daled

Re: Auto Detect Connection Method not working as expected

Postby AdminWes » Sat Aug 18, 2012 4:05 pm

Daled,

It sounds like two things are happening:

1. If you have local and secure HTTP/HTTPS settings in MobiLinc and the Connect Method is set to Auto, MobiLinc will search for your ISY using a UPnP ping on your Wi-Fi network and listen for ISY responses. If none are received then it assumes you are on a non-local Wi-Fi connection and will attempt to use HTTPS.