Mobilinc connect not connecting to the ISY

Submit your bug reports here.

Mobilinc connect not connecting to the ISY

Postby arw01 » Sun Dec 23, 2012 7:02 pm

I moved a thing or two around so I had unplugged the ISY for a few hours. I can get to the ISY over the lan, but Mobilinc reports:

Connection Error

Mobilinc is unable to connect to your lighting controller


I have WIFI access, the interet works, and nearly 4 bars on 4 g as well.

I rebooted the phone, no chnage.
arw01
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 12:05 pm

Re: Mobilinc connect not connecting to the ISY

Postby arw01 » Sun Dec 23, 2012 8:40 pm

Force closed Mobilinc. No change.

Rebooted the ISY. No change.

Turn OFF the phone

Had to redo my password in Mobilinc Connect. (shouldn't it keep all that!)

Got it back then.

It would be nice to get some more detailed information from Mobilinc when it cannot connect.
arw01
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 12:05 pm

Re: Mobilinc connect not connecting to the ISY

Postby AdminWes » Mon Dec 24, 2012 10:02 am

Hard to say what was happening there. MobiLinc does keep all your info stored on the phone. You shouldn't ever have to re-enter your password.

If it happens again, let me know and dig in deeper. Usually with connection errors through MobiLinc Connect it's due to a DNS problem causing the ISY to not be able to reach our servers or the pool time server the ISY uses to keep accurate time.

In this case a router reboot, followed by an ISY reboot typically fixes the issue.

Wes
AdminWes
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2061
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 2:52 pm

Re: Mobilinc connect not connecting to the ISY

Postby arw01 » Mon Jan 07, 2013 5:37 pm

Oh sure the one time the wife wants to use it to turn on the lights it won't connect. I'm having the same issue. But I might be guilty as I changed the pool time to change the server group and did not get the name correct.

I have not had issue when in the house on the same wifi. How often should I see on my router logs the ISY checking in?
arw01
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 12:05 pm

Re: Mobilinc connect not connecting to the ISY

Postby arw01 » Mon Jan 07, 2013 8:38 pm

The time server was still correct, I guess the bad information I had posted in there did not stick.

Am sitting here at home with the admin console open on the ISY and MobiLinc still cannot connect over 4g.
arw01
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 12:05 pm

Re: Mobilinc connect not connecting to the ISY

Postby AdminWes » Tue Jan 08, 2013 7:10 am

Hi arw01,

Can you send me your MobiLinc Connect email or ISY's UUID to support@mobilinc.com and I'll check on your ISY's connection?

Wes
AdminWes
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2061
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 2:52 pm

Re: Mobilinc connect not connecting to the ISY

Postby arw01 » Tue Jan 08, 2013 9:55 pm

Sent via private message
arw01
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 12:05 pm

Re: Mobilinc connect not connecting to the ISY

Postby AdminWes » Wed Jan 09, 2013 6:56 am

Thanks. I responded.

Wes
AdminWes
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2061
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 2:52 pm

Re: Mobilinc connect not connecting to the ISY

Postby arw01 » Wed Jan 09, 2013 9:32 am

I was able to duplicate the little pop up menu this morning while at the grocery store picking up lunch.

However, this moment it is working (first time in days)

Go into My Devices

Pick any device (this morning before it worked it was a KPL, but it makes no difference I have found)

From the screen that lets you adjust the light status (on, off, fast off, fast on, etc)

Press the : menu button

Choose More

That 2 line menu that pops up. Right now is the first time in a couple of days it has taken touch.

At the grocery store it was the first time I had used Mobilinc for the day, I will check if late today it still functions when it would have been purged out of memory and had to reload in full.
arw01
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 12:05 pm

Re: Mobilinc connect not connecting to the ISY

Postby AdminWes » Wed Jan 09, 2013 11:25 am

Thanks for the description.

Can't say that we see that behavior here. I wonder if it's a device specific issue. Do you have any other Android devices you can test on to see if it's an issue restricted to your particular device?

Wes
AdminWes
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2061
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 2:52 pm


Return to Bug Reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron