New 75799 Cam - Not working?

Post any feedback and comments you have on our IP Camera support.

New 75799 Cam - Not working?

Postby TheSidewinder » Sat Jan 25, 2014 8:31 am

Just got one of the new 75799 cameras from Smarthome. A very nice improvement over the 75790, both in image and controls.

That said... I tried adding it to MobiLincCam but can't get it setup fully, can only get parts of it to work.

Using Insteon/Smarthome or Foscam as type choice, no profile will "do it all", and no profile allows completion of the MJPEG step in any case.

Any word on when/if this will be compatible?

Or am I not using the right choices?

Thanks in advance.
TheSidewinder
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 8:39 am

Re: New 75799 Cam - Not working?

Postby AdminWes » Sat Jan 25, 2014 11:10 am

Hi TheSidewinder,

This camera does not support MJPEG. Only JPEG and possibly RTSP...although I can't find any direct evidence that it supports the RTSP streaming protocol.

It's a FOSCAM clone, so please select FOSCAM as the camera type, but before you do, tap the "Refresh" button on this page to download the latest driver database. Then select FOSCAM.

Try entering in port 554 for the RTSP port and see if any of the RTSP profiles match.

If you have external access enabled for this camera and would like to see if we can get it supported, send me your external IP, port, and a username/password to support@mobilinc.com and I'll take a look.

Wes
AdminWes
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2030
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 2:52 pm

Re: New 75799 Cam - Not working?

Postby TheSidewinder » Sat Jan 25, 2014 2:51 pm

It appears to support RTSP, though perhaps badly.

The "manual" (and I use that word loosely) said to download the free "IPCam Viewer".

I did so for the Android, and tried setting it up.

It DID make an RTSP connection, but the video was really goofy. Like digital "tearing", only much worse. Only for a second or two would I see a good image.

On to your app.... None of the 6 profiles work for RTSP, but I may have the port wrong. No mention of RTSP in that worthless manual, though there is a setting for "ONVIF".

On the PTZ confirming step, the cam DOES pan/tilt using Profile 5, but no zoom. And whem viewing, it's about 1 frame every 5 seconds.

I'll setup remote access and email you the details, thanks for looking.
TheSidewinder
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 8:39 am

Re: New 75799 Cam - Not working?

Postby AdminWes » Sun Jan 26, 2014 1:08 pm

Hi TheSidewinder,

I responded via email.

I was seeing the same tearing on RTSP profile 5 as well. You might want to check to see if you can upgrade the firmware on this camera. FOSCAM is always tweaking the firmware and I know RTSP is an area of focus for them to improve the quality.

Wes
AdminWes
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2030
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 2:52 pm

Re: New 75799 Cam - Not working?

Postby TheSidewinder » Sun Jan 26, 2014 2:20 pm

Thanks for looking. I'll try the settings you suggested in your email.

But what Foscam model is this?

It's branded by Smarthome but the model has no cross-reference on the foscam site where I'm looking at firmware.

Or do I have to go through Smarthome?

Thanks!
TheSidewinder
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 8:39 am

Re: New 75799 Cam - Not working?

Postby AdminWes » Tue Jan 28, 2014 6:02 am

That's a good question. I'm not sure either. Since Smarthome is branding it as their own, I would start with them first.

You could look at the firmware versions through the camera interface to figure out what FOSCAM firmware they are running and do the upgrade based on that, but you might brick the camera if Smarthome did anything custom to it.

Wes
AdminWes
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2030
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 2:52 pm

Re: New 75799 Cam - Not working?

Postby TheSidewinder » Thu Jan 30, 2014 9:44 am

And a followup....

After a call to Smarthome support, turns out this camera is indeed a rebranded Foscam, however.....

1) There is no owners manual for it, only a quick start guide that gets you connected to your network. No documentation at all on setting it up. The CD included with the unit only has a web link to the Foscam manual for THEIR equivalent of the 75790 camera (FI8918W), which has an different interface, not the 75799.

2) Foscam is basically disavowing any knowledge of the unit. They aren't selling it themselves, so there is no firmware update available.

To Smarthome's credit, they've realized this is unacceptable and are taking them back. They'll even send a pre-paid return label if you ask, so you aren't out of pocket for anything except initial shipping costs (if applicable). Mine is being returned today, and I won't be buying another one.

Just a heads-up.

Were I you I wouldn't spend one second of development time longer than you have already, if you were considering including it in an update to OM or the Camera Plugins. With the situation being what it is, I suspect SH will abandon it at some point in the near future.
TheSidewinder
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 8:39 am

Re: New 75799 Cam - Not working?

Postby AdminWes » Thu Jan 30, 2014 11:57 am

Thanks for the update.

I suspect that these cameras are using the original firmware from FOSCAM...which would be bad. The early versions of FOSCAM firmwares for HD cameras had RTSP bugs in it that were subsequently fixed, but my guess is not for clones.

I would say that if you generally liked that camera, to buy the equivalent version from FOSCAM where you'll get firmware updates.

Wes
AdminWes
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2030
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 2:52 pm

Re: New 75799 Cam - Not working?

Postby TheSidewinder » Thu Jan 30, 2014 12:22 pm

Yeah, the firmware version shown in this unit does match one or two of the ones on the Foscam site, but it's not a chance I'm going to take. And given what SH support said, it does sound as though you're right about firmware.

But I will be looking for a replacement, and I'll check Foscam directly. Smarthome apparently has no other camera in this niche, with H.264 and 1 megapixel 720 resolution.

Question though.... do you (or ARE you able to) support the Hikvision line of cameras?

Thanks!
TheSidewinder
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 8:39 am

Re: New 75799 Cam - Not working?

Postby jb642isy » Fri Jan 31, 2014 2:08 pm

I purchased one of the Smarthome 75799 and it is not working as they advertised it so its going back. I've spent about 10 hours trying different operating systems and browsers. Smarthome's web interface doesn't show any video and says "missing plugins" on my Mac running Firefox, Chrome and Safari. I get the same worthless results using a Windows machine and IE, Chrome and Firefox also!! Clicking on the install plugins does nothing on any of my computers (Mac or Windows) Great product!!??
jb642isy
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 1:18 pm

Next

Return to Feedback and Comments

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron