GeoFence inconsistency

Post your MobiLinc comments and feedback here.

Re: GeoFence inconsistency

Postby miataguy » Tue Mar 22, 2016 7:06 am

AdminWes wrote:Thanks miataguy,

I'm assuming then that the notification did fire when you got home. If that's the case, I really don't know what else you can try. iOS simply didn't tell MobiLinc that the device crossed a boundary.

If you've lined up the boundary in a neighborhood then there's nothing else that I know of that you can try to increase the reliability. The only other thing to try is to adjust the boundary line so that it crosses through a different neighborhood on the off chance that Wi-Fi hotspots may be stronger or different in a different neighborhood.

Wes

OK thanks.
miataguy
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 2:11 pm

Re: GeoFence inconsistency

Postby Illusion » Mon May 30, 2016 4:30 pm

I seem to have this same issue. I am using Mobilinc Connect and I have boundary notification on. It works 95% of the time. But 5% of the time, I can be outside the boundary by 30 miles for 10 hours with no notification, and no change to the variable. I cannot find a consistent cause. The first time it happened was after an iOS upgrade. I did not launch Mobilinc after the upgrade, and for 3 days of crossing into and out of the boundary I got no notification. Launching Mobilinc fixed that one. So I thought maybe the app has to be launched after a reboot, but testing shows that to be false. Then I thought maybe it has to do with the app being in sync with the ISY. I have a HUGE system, and as such only sync manually. Sometimes I will make changes to my system and not sync the app for days. But again, testing shows that does not kill the geofence function.

If it is not reliable, I will not be able to integrate it into my automation. :( Testing will continue. I will say, reliability of the state variable changes seems to be very good when boundary crossing notification works. I have only had one time where mobilinc sent the boundary crossing notification, but the variable did not get changed

Does adding iBeacons and advanced locations have any bearing on location notification? If I added iBeacons, can I have variables in the ISY change based on my proximity to those?
Illusion
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 4:48 pm

Re: GeoFence inconsistency

Postby AdminWes » Tue May 31, 2016 7:17 am

Hi Illusion,

95% of the time is about what I would expect. It's not possible to hit 100% for the following reasons:

1. iOS actually controls when the boundary is crossed. If iOS hasn't seen Wi-Fi access points it recognizes or cell tower data has changed, this can impact iOS ability to recognize when the boundary has actually happened. While very rare, it does happen where iOS just doesn't fire a boundary crossing.
2. When the boundary crossing event does occur, iOS gives MobiLinc only 2 minutes to tell the ISY about the variable state change. If the iPhone is in a weak cell area, or cell data happens to be down or impacted at the time (maybe the iPhone doesn't have a clear line of sight to a cell tower) then MobiLinc won't be able to reach the ISY to tell the ISY about the variable state change.

Keeping the iPhone out and in clear line of sight plugged into a power source is the best chance at getting all the many variables working together for reliable geofence crossing activity.

Wes
AdminWes
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2040
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 2:52 pm

Re: GeoFence inconsistency

Postby Illusion » Tue May 31, 2016 7:52 am

Thanks Wes,

So, as I understand it, if the act of boundary crossing fails, there is no trigger? So if I cross the boundary and the phone is in a signal compromised condition (poor cell, poor wifi, no gps, or turned off) there will be no trigger once the signal compromise is gone? This is how I can spend all day outside the boundary without a trigger, even though at that point the phone knows I am outside the GeoFence?
Illusion
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 4:48 pm

Re: GeoFence inconsistency

Postby AdminWes » Tue May 31, 2016 8:27 am

Hi Illusion,

If you don't see the boundary crossing notification then iOS hasn't told MobiLinc about the boundary crossing for whatever reason only iOS knows.

If you see the boundary crossing notification, but the variable doesn't change, then MobiLinc wasn't able to reach the ISY to change the variable state. Could be a lot of reasons, but the high-level is that the network call inside of that 1.5-2 minutes that iOS gives apps to run in the background wasn't able to make a successful connection.

Wes
AdminWes
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2040
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 2:52 pm

Re: GeoFence inconsistency

Postby Illusion » Tue May 31, 2016 8:40 am

And what about iBeacons?

Can they be used in conjunction with a GeoFence to increase accuracy or reliability?

If not, can your advanced locations plug in trigger ISY variable changes with proximity to iBeacons?

I am just getting my head around all this location based automation.
Illusion
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 4:48 pm

Re: GeoFence inconsistency

Postby AdminWes » Tue May 31, 2016 8:53 am

Yes, iBeacons gives you in-home or business location awareness when paired with the Advanced Location plug-in of MobiLinc. They won't change anything with geo-fences. Geo-fences are good at 100m and higher. iBeacons are in the <10m range for location needs.

With iBeacons and Advanced Locations, you can have MobiLinc update ISY variables based on which iBeacon you are near (room scale - about 10-20 feet resolution).

http://mobilinc.com/features/advancedlocations/

Wes
AdminWes
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2040
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 2:52 pm

Re: GeoFence inconsistency

Postby BlackSheep » Sun Nov 27, 2016 9:18 am

AdminWes wrote:Yes, iBeacons gives you in-home or business location awareness when paired with the Advanced Location plug-in of MobiLinc. They won't change anything with geo-fences. Geo-fences are good at 100m and higher. iBeacons are in the <10m range for location needs.

With iBeacons and Advanced Locations, you can have MobiLinc update ISY variables based on which iBeacon you are near (room scale - about 10-20 feet resolution).

http://mobilinc.com/features/advancedlocations/

Wes


I live in a very densely populated city with plenty of wifi hotspots and good cellphone coverage, yet I still have very unreliable variable updates on crossing geo-fence boundaries. I have been using Mobilinc for nearly a year, and the app only correctly records a boundary crossing probably 50% of the time. This makes writing programs very difficult, and I am ready to give up on trying.

As a last-ditch effort, I purchased a RadBeacon to try and help programs reliably determine whether my wife and I are home or not. The RadBeacon itself is operating correctly, but mobilinc does not report the position to the beacon correctly. The RadBeacon's app correctly shows when I am within range of the RadBeacon, but mobilinc does not. It will sometimes report when I come within range of the beacon, but it never updates to show when I am out of range of the beacon.

So, now I am left with a home automation system that relies entirely on location, and I have an app that cannot report geofence crossings accurately, or the presence of a beacon.

Any suggestions, or will I be forced to give up on this product?
BlackSheep
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2016 11:49 am

Re: GeoFence inconsistency

Postby AdminWes » Mon Nov 28, 2016 7:10 am

Hi BlackSheep,

A couple of suggestions:

- Please update your iOS device to the very latest of iOS 10.
- If updated to the latest version of iOS 10, please then reboot your iOS device.
- Make sure that MobiLinc is allowed to run in the background. Open the iOS Settings app and scroll down to MobiLinc. Then turn on "Background App Refresh" and Location set to "Always".
- Then, delete your geo-fence and recreate and try the geo-fence again.

For your iBeacon, see if the latest iOS and the reboot helps.

Wes
AdminWes
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2040
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 2:52 pm

Re: GeoFence inconsistency

Postby BlackSheep » Wed Nov 30, 2016 3:39 pm

Hi Wes,

I upgraded both iphones to iOS 10.1.1, and it has made no difference. The upgrade and the reboot haven't made any difference to the geofence problem or the beacon problem. The geofence is still unreliable, and the app is not reporting the beacon correctly at all.
BlackSheep
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2016 11:49 am

PreviousNext

Return to MobiLinc Feedback and Comments

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron