Tasker to Say Thermostat Setpoint

Share how you want to integrate with Tasker!

Tasker to Say Thermostat Setpoint

Postby Nwoodgerd » Sun Jul 26, 2015 4:21 pm

I currently have a profile that will drop my thermostat setpoint by either 1 or 5 degrees depending on the phrase I say into my phone. What I would like is for my phone to then tell me the temperature that the thermostat is now at. I figure I could accomplished this by using the Say action and a variable but I do not know how to set the variable to the thermostat setpoint. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.
Nwoodgerd
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2015 4:13 pm

Re: Tasker to Say Thermostat Setpoint

Postby AdminWes » Sun Jul 26, 2015 5:22 pm

Hi Nwoodgerd,

Currently you can't set a variable's value to the value of an INSTEON or other device. If you are really interested in this feature, check out the alpha 5.0 release of the ISY firmware from UDI. This is one of the features that will be in 5.0.

Wes
AdminWes
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2153
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 2:52 pm

Re: Tasker to Say Thermostat Setpoint

Postby Nwoodgerd » Sun Jul 26, 2015 6:50 pm

I'll take a look at that. Thanks Wes.
Nwoodgerd
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2015 4:13 pm

Re: Tasker to Say Thermostat Setpoint

Postby mwareman » Tue Jul 28, 2015 6:00 am

This is how you can have Tasker say your thermostat status... My thermostat is zwave - but you should be able to adjust this to suit...

Define the following two variables in Tasker:

Code: Select all
%IsyUrl             http://admin:password@1.2.3.4
%DeviceThermostat   ZW009_1


(obviously - change the URL, username, password and define to be correct!)

Create your task:
Code: Select all
HTTP Get
   Server:Port   %IsyUrl
   Path          /rest/nodes/%DeviceThermostat/ST

Variable split
   Name          %HTTPD
   Splitter      value="

Variable split
   Name          %HTTPD2
   Splitter      "

Say
   Text          Current temperature is %HTTPD21 degrees


ST is 'Status' - the current measured temperature. CLISPH can be used to obtain the heating setpoint and CLISPC for the current cooling setpoint. See all the properties in your browser by viewing the main /rest/nodes/ tree...


How does this work?

Well -the 'HTTP Get' makes the web call to ISY - and ISY returns xml like this:
Code: Select all
<properties>
<property id="ST" value="75" formatted="75° F" uom="17"/>
</properties>


The response is stored in the Tasker variable %HTTPD.

The 'Variable split' splits the %HTTPD variable at the stated delimiter... creating two variables %HTTPD1 (before the delimiter) and %HTTPD2 (after the delimiter).

The second 'Variable split' does the same - but starting at the %HTTPD2 variable - resulting in %HTTPD21 containing only the content of the 'value' attribute of the xml.

Then the 'Say' command causes Tasker to say the value.

Michael.
mwareman
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2012 5:22 pm

Re: Tasker to Say Thermostat Setpoint

Postby Wingman1487 » Tue Jul 28, 2015 6:55 pm

I was able to accomplish the same however I used RESTask plugin instead of the GET command in Tasker. Works the exact same as above really, just an extra module. Keep in mind this does not use MobiLinc, it taps into the ISY's REST commands, takes a bit of ground work but works just fine for me, now I just say "Ok Google" and "Set <upstairs/downstairs> thermostat <temperature>"
Wingman1487
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 7:42 pm


Return to Tasker Integration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests